An Update from Ben: My New Job, Three Months In

Over the last few weeks, I’ve learned a few things about my job and myself.
1. I will not make it to every game, no matter how hard I try.
2. If I keep trying to do that, I will make mistakes and eventually wear myself out.
3. I can’t please everyone. I have to prioritize.
4. Everyone is sure that their story deserves the front page.
5. I have to learn to trust my judgement.
6. My photos are getting better and better each time out.
7. I am NOT my company. I don’t make the decisions about how business is done, or the distribution of the paper, or the advertising. It’s not my business, so asking me why we switched to a website you do not like will not give you an answer you want or like. Take it up with the higher ups, because the only thing I can say is “I’m sorry you feel that way.” I, personally, find it much friendlier layout. The old one was nice compared to others, but I hated how it looked.
8. While I really love being at work with my great co-workers, I truly love going to the games. I still can’t believe I get paid to do it.
9. Always charge your equipment, you schmuck.
10. This is the most important one, I think. I am not my predecessors. They left some big shoes to fill, and I respect them greatly for that. However, when people tell me that my way of doing things isn’t how the guys before me did it, it doesn’t make me the happiest person.

That all being said, I believe that Game Night has never looked better, and that I think I can take the sports section in the right direction. All of this has been done in three months on the job, while learning a new content management system after I had already learned the previous one and me learning how to design pages. I keep improving, and I’m sure before too long, I will actually settle in to the job. Did I mention there used to be at least two people doing my job?

All of that being said, I love my job. My family has taken to calling me Clark, along with some of my coworkers, due to my glasses and shirt/tie, and occupation. The other day, I was filling up at the gas station, when someone said “Hey, Clark”.

I naturally turned to see who was talking to me. But they weren’t.

Now, time for bed. I have a full workload tomorrow…or should I say today?

About Benjamin D. Peters

Ben is a reporter for The Missouri Times. Missouri State University alum, degree in media. http://SeeDisclaimer.com View all posts by Benjamin D. Peters

Leave a Reply

