Land Of The Free?

Over the course of the last few months, I don’t think I have ever disagreed with our government as much as I do right now. Within this span of time, we have legalized detaining “terrorist suspects” without a trial, indefinitely. Today, the internet and its users are fighting back against the proposed SOPA and PIPA bills. We’ve even had the Occupy movement begin and grow. (I’ve included links in case you need some info.)

Frankly, I’ve only paid attention to politics for the last 5 years or so, finally getting into it when I was just about the legal voting age. Since then, my views may have changed on certain issues, but what saddens me is that my overall view of the politicians running our country is quite bleak. When it comes to our government, I’m a true cynic. I understand how the process works, I comprehend the dividing issues, opposing sides, etc., but in general, I feel that most of our politicians fail to do their jobs-and that is to represent and act in the best interest of the people.

All of this is about people’s rights, and the government is slowly putting little catches on each of them. First, we can be held without a trial, then the internet is censored…what’s next? A tax on pets? Our rights have been listed very clearly in the Bill of Rights, but Congress, it seems, finds them to be unclear. I worry for the United States. The last time people were this unhappy with the government, King George was on the throne.

So what is the issue? Is it the people being this split and undecided? Or is it an issue of politicians doing what they want? I think there is a major rift between our politicians and the people they “represent”, and I know I’m not the only one. The question is, at what point does our government go too far, and what repercussions will our country be faced with?

This year begins the race for the presidency, with Mr. Obama running again. Who will he run against? That remains to be seen, as the Republicans cannot seem to agree on any one candidate, or for that matter, find a candidate worth their votes. All in all, we have the makings of a very interesting election year.

In today’s times, I shudder to think of how our founding fathers would react to our current administration and policies. Frankly, I think Washington’s jaw would drop, and his wooden teeth would hit the floor.

Now, I encourage you all to do your part, to make your voice heard. Get involved, study the issues, know your candidates.

“Ask not what your country can do for you… ask what you can do for your country.” -John F. Kennedy

About Benjamin D. Peters

Ben is a reporter for The Missouri Times. Missouri State University alum, degree in media. http://SeeDisclaimer.com View all posts by Benjamin D. Peters

Leave a Reply

