My Year In Review

Well, it seems the year is almost over, and 2012 will begin. What does this year hold in store for us? Maybe the apocalypse, maybe not. Either way, my goal is to get that dream job.

Looking back over the past year, I see that I’ve come a long way from 2010. In 2011, I feel that I proved myself, finally. I put my money where my mouth is, and I think it paid off. I took chances, and am glad that I did. I grew up and became responsible for myself and my actions.

I discovered that I do have what it takes to be a writer. I handled my first real stories this year, and arguably some controversial ones. I’m proud of the work I have put forth, in both my efforts with the Standard and Ozarks News Journal. I discovered that I can handle interviews, that my mouth and brain can work together to ask the right questions.

I’ve learned a few things to add to my list of skills, thanks to some new friends, especially thanks to Michael Gulledge and Steph Anderson with their help in photography. My video work has gotten better, simply by watching Tyler Beck and Ryan Paxton’s works. And I can now work with HTML and CSS, thanks to Colby Jennings’ class. Finally, I’ve cleaned up my writing, thanks in large part to my editor, Amanda Hess.

I’ve figured out the kind of job that I want. I’ve figured out that I am capable of handling a workload of large proportions, and doing it in a timely manner. I still feel I have yet to push my limits, and I find that very comforting.

I’ve learned quite a bit about myself over this year, and I can honestly say I like what I have become. I see myself becoming the man who I’ve always wanted to be, the person that my parents knew I could be, and the man people expect me to be. All in all, I’m content in my lessons learned over the last year.

Thank you to all of the people who have been there, and I look forward to meeting the new people of what has yet to come. Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and have a safe and Happy New Year.

-Ben

About Benjamin D. Peters

Ben is a reporter for The Missouri Times. Missouri State University alum, degree in media. http://SeeDisclaimer.com View all posts by Benjamin D. Peters

Leave a Reply

