There’s No Place Like Home

That’s right, Dorothy.

After being locked up in my dingy apartment, studying and working on schoolwork, nothing feels more freeing than driving back home to Linn for a break. Whereas I’m confined and kept to a rather strange schedule in Springfield, when I walked through the door at home, I could feel myself shedding those burdens at the door, ready to be picked up on Sunday when I head back to Springfield.

I love the freedom of doing what I want, not as classes dictate. I can write whatever I want, not about some topic that is somewhat boring. I can read the newspaper, not a textbook. I can actually cook, because I have time to.

Graduation is only 23 days away, and I’m more than ready for it. This Thanksgiving, I’m thankful for friends and a great family to come home to. But most of all, I’m thankful that my time in school is nearly done.

Happy Thanksgiving!

About Benjamin D. Peters

Ben is a reporter for The Missouri Times. Missouri State University alum, degree in media. http://SeeDisclaimer.com View all posts by Benjamin D. Peters

Leave a Reply

