Speaking of Ethics…

I recently was part of a conversation in which we discussed what motivates us to do certain things, basically, what drives us to make the decisions we do. Do we make our decisions because we feel obligated to do something, or because we fear or desire the outcomes? How much of our morals and values factor into that equation? Do you feel like you make the decision, or that it is made for you?

I hope to hear some input from you on this subject, and to help start the conversation, I’ll answer it for myself.

I believe that my major choices are not usually made based on what I want, but what is expected of me. It may sound strange to some of you, but for me, it is important to do what I feel must be done, to do my duty. I have in my mind what I am supposed to do, and often it means putting aside what I would rather do. I don’t feel like it is a major loss, though, because most of the time, I’m able to do what I need to, and then proceed onto whatever else I want to do.

Actually, what really strikes me as strange is normal method of avoiding the consequence train of thought. I tend to focus on what needs to be done, rather than consider all of the implications of my actions. Sometimes it works out fine, sometimes I should probably think it over. I’m somewhat impulsive, but I think that is what has gotten me this far in life.

Let me know what you think, and where your opinions fit on this matter!

Thanks for reading,

-Ben

About Benjamin D. Peters

Ben is a reporter for The Missouri Times. Missouri State University alum, degree in media. http://SeeDisclaimer.com View all posts by Benjamin D. Peters

Leave a Reply

